Most people do not care enough about environmental issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an ambivalence about whether individuals take enough notice of environmental problems. Despite the fact that some people barely concern these issues, I am of the opinion that environmental actions are increasingly taken on a global scale; therefore, ecological issues are still acknowledged to a certain extent.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that there are cases where people prioritize short-term benefits over environmental sustainability. On a personal scale, convenience leads to inconsiderate behaviors resulting in pollution. To be more specific, several individuals are witnessed illegally discharging domestic or personal waste in public places. For example, beaches where tourism takes place overflow with trash. On a business scale, profits are of greater importance in comparison with environmentally sustainable practices. Indeed, the release of pollutants, including sewage and poisonous emissions, into nature costs less than the procedure of waste treatment. As a matter of fact, ecological concerns are disregarded due to personal benefits.

In spite of these cases, the increasing efforts of protecting the nature should not be underestimated. In the first place, within schools and universities, there are several campaigns launched to propagate about ecological conservation by students. Moreover, not only do these activities attract the attention and active participation but they also are sponsored by domestic enterprises. For example, annually, the campaign named “Green Summer” is operated in Ho Chi Minh city by many universities. Another evidence regarding environmental awareness is that the authorities of several nations have taken the initiative in nature maintenance. In fact, new environmental policies including more severe punishments for every inadequate process of waste disposal are imposed to either raise people’s awareness about the detrimental impacts of contamination or deter the intention of rule violation. Due to these explanations, it is evident that people still care much about the environment.

In conclusion, in spite of some existing environmentally unaware behaviors such as trash disposal in inappropriate places or the priority of economic benefits over environmental conservation, it is still undeniable that more measures involving non-profit campaigns and stricter regulations are taken to prevent these issues.