Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

I believe that professionals should work in the same country where they did their training as they owe a debt to their country. Other’s believe that they should be free to work abroad if they want to in order to maximize their earnings.

On one hand, people believe that skilled workers should be given freedom to go abroad, as this gives them the potential for personal and professional growth. Those employed in these professions are some of the highly-skilled people and have a lot of demand worldwide. This global market for their skills allows them to earn more money abroad.

However, I firmly believe that these skilled individuals have a moral obligation to give back to their country that invested in their education and training. Government’s spend significant amount of financial support and other resources both in universities and training to help these professionals excel in their skills. For example, the UK spends millions of pounds on their junior doctors through university fees and on-the-job training. Therefore, it is only fair that they repay this by providing their support to their own country.

In conclusion, while individual freedom and career advancement are important considerations, the potential negative impact of brain drain on developing countries cannot be ignored. Hence, I believe that it is important that these professionals are required to work in their home country to benefit and repay their country.