Some people believe that school curriculum should focus more on practical skills, like financial literacy and cooking, rather than traditional subjects, like history and literature. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, with the limited resources and time, some people argue that more real-life skills, such as financial literacy and cooking, should be taught compared to traditional skills, such as history and literature. I completely agree that practical skills should be taught more in school in order to make younger generations more prepared to face the adulthood.

In recent years, many graduates are not accustomed to face the adult life, since they are not skilled in dealing with everyday problems, such as cooking and financial planning. In other words, many teenagers are not able to make simple dishes for themselves that eventually will cause them financial problems in the future. For example, an individual who recently graduates and lives abroad might experience struggle to fulfill their meals, instead they will buy food from stores and restaurants, which will deteriorate their financial condition in the long run.

Furthermore, teaching practical skills can help individuals address their life problems, so they can get into a stable life condition and prepare for their next stage of life. For example, adults who are financially and emotionally stable often more courageous to engage in a relationship and marriage, rather than the unprepared ones. However, teaching practical skills solely has a minor drawback, which is the extinction of cultural and language knowledge in younger generations. After all, that problem can be solved by documenting the information in books or media. For further perseverance, governments can store it in the museums as exhibits.

In conclusion, preparing teenagers with life skills will make them ready to face the adulthood, and eventually get to the next stage of life, such as dating or marriage. However, younger generations will have a few knowledge about their cultures and language, which can be addressed by documented it sufficiently.