Some people believe that school curriculum should focus more on practical skills, like financial literacy and cooking, rather than traditional subjects, like history and literature. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed by many people that children at school should be primarily taught on practical skills such as financial management and communication rather than traditional subjects like history or literature. Although practical skills have an important impact on children’s further life, I believe that traditional subjects are the foundations to succeed to learn any further skills and make new improvements.

Firstly, it is undeniable fact that in adult life children will need more practical skills than traditional ones in finding a job or even simply to be able to communicate with others properly. However, without learning fundamentals, it will be definitely hard to learn any new practical skill. Let’s take as an example communication, to be able to know how to communicate properly, a person needs to learn its rules. And this is what exactly taught in traditional subjects, the rules.

The second reason why the importance of traditional subjects outweigh practical skills for school children is that making new developments in particular field requires the knowledge of previous works. When a person knows previous works which has been done before, he will just start from there instead of starting from the beginning. For example, to be able to make improvements in producing renewable energy, person needs to learn first what it is, what has been done before and what specifically needs further reasearchs and improvements.

In conclusion, despite the fact that practical skills are important, a person needs to learn the traditional subjects which will serve as foundation for other skills in the future. Traditional subjects are the rules which should be learnt during the school years to be able to succeed further in any other practical skill.