Some people believe that schools should only teach children's subjects which are beneficial to their future career and therefore other subjects such as music and sports are not important. To what extent do you agree or disagree

In today’s system of education, some people are of the opinion that academic insitutions must solely focus in teaching subjects that are academically aligned, rather than incorporating it with extra-curricular subjects, such as music and sports. However, I do not hold the same view.

Personally, offering a holistic learning approach for students is more favorable. Both academic and non-academic subjects equally provide various lifelong skills. For instance, studying textbooks about Algebra or Chemistry improve cognitive and critical thinking abilities. On the other hand, exposure to theater plays and ball games at an early age can significantly increase social skills and enhance the child’s mental well-being. By not limiting the learners, this approach effectively builds confidence and engagement to new learning areas.

In addition to that, dealing with numerous subjects exercise their time management skills. When they study multiple subjects and meet different deadlines, students are forced to manage their time. For instance, balancing their exams while fulfilling extra-curricular commitments will instill the lesson of prioritization, which I believe an imperative real-life skill.

To conclude, although some people believe that non-academic lessons are not worth teaching in schools, I am a strong advocate that it provides significant growth to students as they are honed to competent and confident individuals, ultimately preparing them for future success.