Some people believe that schools should teach foreign languages to primary school children. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed that primary schools should integrate foreign languages into the school curriculum. Although this development can put pressure on them, I believe the positive sides of this outweigh the drawback since it provides an access to the future success.

Teaching children foreign languages can be detrimental, as it can be difficult to grasp the knowledge at that young age. Instead, primary schools should focus on other important subjects such as math and mother tongue, which play a significant role in their next academic life. For example, unlike European countries, schools in Japan usually do not force children to acquire foreign languages in their first four years. What they prioritize most are core academic disciplines, which have shown positive outcomes in their academic performances so far.

However, the benefits of linguistic education are far more significant. It is no doubt that if students know at least one foreign language, they are more likely to become successful in the future. This is mainly because language can enable them to enhance their horizons by reading foreign literature. Moreover, students who acquired foreign languages can study abroad, which can be a life-changing part of their lives.

Another advantage of foreign language instruction is the accessibility to numerous online resources it provides. Since most materials on the Internet are in English, children can get the opportunity to study through online platforms, usually free of charge. YouTube, for instance, is where students can access millions of videos about almost everything that could be beneficial to their future prosperity, so language can make this process easier and more effective.

In conclusion, teaching international languages at primary school can have a detrimental effect on children since it may be overwhelming to understand. However, I think the advantages of this are more significant, as instruction of foreign language provides an opportunity to study abroad and a wide range of resources to learn.