Some people believe that scientific research should focus on solving environmental problems, while others think it should concentrate on improving human life. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

Ever since Galileo first proposed the scientific method for studying the world, thinkers and researchers have argued about the relevance of these scientific endeavours. While some individuals propound that science must be viewed solely as a means to expand human knowledge, others believe that this understanding is meaningless without its application to practical problems. I believe that if one looks closer, it will become apparent that this debate fails to acknowledge the fact that both these aspects of science are inseparable. One ceases to exist without the other.

Technology is the application of science to improve human lives. From the light bulb to the printing press, technological advancements have revolutionised the way our societies function and evolve. This has led to increased public interest and governmental funding into research. At the same time, technological advancement is also essential for the evolution of scientific research itself. Scientists are able to ask, and answer, more nuanced questions because of the development of more sophisticated and precise tools for scientific inquiry.

Despite this utilitarian approach, there are many aspects of science that might not be practically useful in the foreseeable future. This does not mean that such questions are not worth asking. In the past, the idea of quantum mechanics seemed entirely unrelated to everyday lives of people. Yet today, our phones allow us to experience the world in unimaginable ways because of the quantum properties of semiconductors. Oftentimes, our understanding of nature precedes our vision for its utility. Thus, scientific research must be driven by our curiosity, even if its applicability is not immediately apparent.

In conclusion, I believe that science benefits when technologists and purists work in tandem. Together, science not only becomes a means for understanding the world that we live in, but also allows us to make it better for fellow human beings.