Some people believe that sending criminals to prison is the best way to deal with them, whereas others argue that the government should focus on educating them instead. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With the crime rates escalating in many parts of the world, finding an effective solution to this issue is more important than ever. Some people consider imprisonment to be the most optimal method for minimizing crime, whereas others suggest a greater part played by rehabilitation through education. This essay will discuss both sides of the debate and argue for a balance between these approaches.

On the one hand, some types of crime may not pose a serious threat to society, so they can be countered by lighter correctional means. For instance, pickpocketing in public places, repeating driving violations or small-scale hacking don’t seem to be as severe as a murder or terrorism. This means that such criminals can be provided with counselling sessions with psychologists to turn them into better and law-abiding citizens, rather than incarcerating them together with recidivists. Moreover, the root cause of crime is a lack of access to education and job opportunities, which pose difficulties for making a living. If governments address these issues by educational and vocational training, then the level of crime should, in theory, decline markedly.

Nevertheless, there are judicial cases that can only be solved through imprisonment. Offenders involved in such notorious tragedies as Columbine high school massacre or 911 terrorist attack, for example, are unlikely to be rehabilitated, due to the gravity of their harm. Their wrongdoing claimed dozens of lives, and if justice were not served by long years of imprisonment, the public would not feel safe and such cases might recur. Additionally, prisons serve as correctional institutions, where offenders reflect upon their wrongdoings, facing serious consequences. This illuminates the effectiveness of a legal system to ensure public safety and sustainability.

To sum up, I believe that both imprisonment and correctional education play an essential part in legal systems depending on the nature of the crime committed. This combination ensures minor delinquencies as well as serious crimes are punished effectively, providing a secure environment for society.