Some people believe that sending criminals to prison is the best way to deal with them, whereas others argue that the government should focus on educating them instead. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The issue of lengthy prison sentences towards criminals is a complex one that is debated by many. Some people believe that criminals should face as much time behind bars as possible, while others highlight the importance of educating these people in society. I believe that convicts should be given a second chance depending on the circumstances.

On one hand, some argue that lawbreakers are deserving of prolonged prison sentences owing to the fact that these people are harmful towards society. This is proven by the many instances when ex-prisoners commit crimes even after serving time in prison.

On the other hand, others contend that criminals deserve to be given a chance to redeem themselves. They pinpoint the fact that lawbreakers are also humane with conscience and an ability to feel remorse for their wrongdoings. Therefore, rehabilitation programs can transform them back to a functional member of the community.

In my opinion, it boils down to the context of the crime and the criminal. I agree that the severity of the crime committed is a key factor in determining the possibility of a second chance. I concur that for crimes that do not involve malicious intent, a pardon may be possible. Remarkably, a large portion of juvenile criminals are too immature to understand the crime they committed. In addition, those individuals still have a long life ahead that would surely go to waste provided mandatory lengthy sentencing is imposed.

In conclusion, many aspects like the severity of crime and age are crucial to be considered when making a decision regarding the type of punishment for a lawbreaker.