Some people believe that social media sites, such as Facebook or Twitter, have a negative impact on young people and their ability to form personal relationships. Others believe that these sites bring people together in a beneficial way.

Social media sites such as Facebook or Twitter have been a part of our life since the early 2000s. There are some coflicts about use of these platforms in our daily life. Some persons think that they have negative effects on younger generations regarding personal relationships. Others believe that they bring people together in a beneficial way.

First of all, while we are debating on this topic, we should consider technological advancement and time period. For instance, when we first started to use Facebook, most individuals who are in their 20s did not have personal mobile phones. Thus, they could use their social media at home or school and This limited the time which is spent online. Whereas, most induviduals, including children, have a smartphone nowadays. It is usually not a luxury, essential to connect with each other in a family or community. Especially, if parents want to check their children’ safety, it’s crucial for this purpose. Besides, technologic gadgets like that bring a some drawbacks. If a child carries a hand phone, they can reach some websites easily and uncontrolled such as Youtube, Facebook and Instagram. But, some of them use it to learn new knowledge and follow special events like concerts, theatres, but mostly they don’t have the willpower to limit their use. Also, some applications like Whatsapp can cause weird communication habits, according to my observations. For example, two teenage girls who are sitting side by side in a place can chatting with each other by whatsapp instead of speaking face to face.

In my opinion, advantages or disadvantages to using social media depend on personal development. So, adolescents are protected in terms of overusing until they have a power to control themself.