Some people believe that students should learn academic subjects such as maths, literature instead of talented subjects such as music or sports. Do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, a school of thought holds that students are recommended to learn academic subjects such as math,literature to boost their critical as well as logical thinking skills, helping them later on when they pursue jobs which require extensive knowledge while a segment of population hold that they should learn talented subjects namely music or sports. While this view appears to be reasonable in some degrees, I suppose that it depends on which field each individual is specialized in, their dreams and passions.

On the one hand, there are many rationales to explain why a segment of the population advocates the idea that students need to study math,literature or other kinds of subjects that boost their logical and critical thinking skills. First and foremost, these subjects are one of the components which contribute to the sustainable development of education,therefore, some parents hold a view that getting good academic performances at these subjects will help their children when they integrate into the society . For instance, having good math skills can help children do efficiently in certain jobs namely IT specialists,accountants or getting scholarships which will help children to enroll in prestigious education institutions while being specialized in literature enhances communication skills, valuable in various professions .Secondly,engaging in jobs requiring specialized skills will later on help children earn lucrative income without having to do labor-intensive jobs that demand a lot of strengths. Consequently, contributing to social stability as well as reducing families’ financial burden within years of working. These are powerful exemplifications for the aforementioned idea.

On the other hand, it would be imprudent to downplay the paramount importance of talented subjects such as music or sports. Firstly, through learning talented subjects will contribute to children’s self discipline, teamwork and stress management, which are essential for personal growth and success in life. For instance, by hosting events which stimulate children creativity can display children’s full potential towards these subjects, which is a precursor for good developments. Secondly, talented subjects foster diverse skill sets which are not acquired through academic subjects such as developing motor skills and promoting physical fitness. Moreover, being proficient in these subjects will help children broaden their career paths in the future.

In conclusion,it is schools’ responsibility to strike a balance between both academic and talented subjects so children can develop sustainably, therefore, exerting good influences on society in the future.