Some people believe that students should study the subjects they are interested in, while others think they should study subjects that will be useful in the future. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that subjects like science and technology should be taught to students, rather than literature and history as the first ones will be more practical in the future. I definitely disagree with this statement, because literature and history are the national heritage of the country, and they can help in a scientific research as an information source.

History as well as literature are essential subjects for students, as they are the main sources of information of their ancestors’ traditions and all the other accomplishments that happened in the past. All the countries have a history unique to their own, and if it was to be abandoned in the future, many cultures could disappear. Additionally, literature is also important as it involves local fairytales or poems by their famous writers, which is also considered a part of the culture. A classic example is, in Azerbaijan those subjects are taught everywhere including schools universities etc. because our people and government think that they are very valuable for both our culture and national heritage.

Another important reason could be thought that those subjects may be of great help while doing a research. Many researches often need a sample or some kind of information for their research, and they can get those things from history books or literature articles. For example, last year in England, there was a research on genetic traits of different animals, so they used data about those species’ from history books to expand their research and compare current DNA with the ones from past.

In conclusion, students should study history and literature, as they preserve information about the culture of the country as well as they can be used as a source of useful information in researches.