Some people believe that students should study the subjects they are interested in, while others think they should study subjects that will be useful in the future. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent Years, the debate surrounding the students choices’ and their career future has become increasingly. Currently, new students are seeking academic pathways that offer them greater career prospects. Bottom line, if they choose new professions only based in the new tendences, in the near future, probably, some careers will be disapear or it will raise a profesional scarcity in the different work fields.

On the one hand, focusing strictely on career oriented subjects offers significant benefits in short time. The high demand of these professions, cause this effect. In their minds, is easier to get an internship while they’ve been studying. They could be inserted in the work market earlier, obtaining practical and accumulating experience. For example, if a new profesional starts working in a company as a interniship, since the first year of the college, when he finish it, he already will have three or four work experience.

On the other hand, restricting academic choices can have severe negative consequences. It could be generate a lack of traditional profesions as a primary educators, musicians, teachers in general. For instance, in many countries as Canada, are facing a substancial gap of educators and nursering profesionals, causing social problems because of this. Despite of the incentives, this number are growing year by year, this controversial situation don’t be controlled earlier than they want.

To sum up, although career-focused education provides clear financial advantages as a quickly insertion in a job market, attract talents, and fill the gaps of technical resources of companies needs. Nonetheless, governments have to provide better benefits to non technical profesions as they already try with immigration programs.