Some people believe that students should study the subjects they are interested in, while others think they should study subjects that will be useful in the future. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some advocate that undergraduates shall focus only on subjects that will matter to their future careers, whilst others advocate for freedom of studying and learning any subjects students want to, regardless of the circumstances. Freedom of choice and opinion of certain individual are more significant than opportunities and income. Future employees shall enjoy their job and make a use of their strong sides.

Motivation and enjoyment of your job are the key factors in choosing your career path. Being able to study any subject you want to, you can choose certain areas which you would enjoy working in. Enjoyment of the job will also keep you on the workplace by providing motivation to go to work, for instance. In the modern world, however, not many chose their proforientation based on what they actually want to do, the results of such decision is stable, yet not enjoyable work. For instance, many people in 2020 have chosen computer science and other IT-related professions due to vast range of opportunities available, however, many of them regretted their decision and realized that they do not enjoy the process.

Popular practice among undergraduates is to improve in their strong sides by taking related work sphere. Their goal is to master the sphere they are already doing well in, thus, having an advantage over those who are not. This opens various opportunities and can let future professionals to cope with rapidly changing modern world trends. For instance, more and more people find themselves doing well in advanced maths study programmes, thus, choosing math related subjects such as physics and chemistry, which are subjects that will remain significant for decades.

In conclusion, students shall consider their own opinion and their strong sides when choosing university subjects to study, as it will help them to find a job which would match most of their requirements.