Some people believe that teenagers should concentrate on all school subjects. Others believe that teenagers should focus on the subject that they are best at or that they find the most interesting. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A school of thought holds that all school subjects should be compulsory in teenagers’ educational scheme, while others believe that teenagers are entitled to focus on the ones that they excel in or have interest in. Both perspectives have valid arguments, which will be illuminated in this essay along with my personal opinion.

On the one hand, a well-rounded education is likely to facilitate a more holistic development for youngsters. Firstly, studying a variety of school subjects can broaden their horizons. To illustrate, certain core subjects, including Mathematics, science, and language, play a decisive role in everyday life, developing not only fundamental skills such as calculating for children but also enhancing reasoning and analysis. Secondly, interdisciplinary learning may help lay a good foundation for obtaining knowledge diversification and improving their skillsets. This potentially allows juveniles to meet academic requirements of reputed universities or have more opportunities in their career paths.

On the other hand, personalized learning brings certain merits for teenagers. Focusing on a specific subject can help students gain in-depth knowledge in that field and strengthen their expertise. Freedom in choosing elective subjects is likely to create more intrinsic motivation, encouraging them to engage and discover further the subject they enjoy. Moreover, this may be seen as a preparation for their future careers; as a result, high schoolers can be more determined and successful in their specialization with less academic pressure. However, concentrating only on one subject may hinder adolescents’ academic progress, leading to a lower possibility of fulfilling schools’ expectations.

In conclusion, although both educational approaches are beneficial for teenagers’ enhancement in breadth of knowledge, I hold a strong belief that finding a middle ground between both methods is the most effective way to help with juveniles’ comprehensive development regarding essential fundamental skills and specialization.