Some people believe that the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

University studies are sometimes the peak of ones education and the objective of which is sometimes in discussion. Is the aim of getting a higher education to get a better job or maybe getting that education might be the actual aim as improves the student and the way that interact with the world? This essay agrees that there are other benefits than just improving your chances to get employed.

A bachelor or master’s degree is usually the previous step some people get just before entering the workforce and there is an opinion that the titles are to prepare them for that. A degree prepares them to get most of the knowledge that they will need in their aspiring job and most people choose their studies with the objective of ending up in that job. But not everybody end up in the job they want, the market is saturated with people with degrees and there are a lot of university students that end up working in a field completely different than the one they studied. While every year thousands of physicist finish their studies most of them will probably work in software.

Getting a higher education might help not just to get a decent job, but also expand their knowledge and have a much broader view of the world. There are lots of university studies that are not as work focused as others, especially arts and social studies. Those studies don’t always help to get a job but they help understand better who we are as a person and as a society. Not all the people that study history end up as historians but we as a society need people that understand it to make sure that we don’t repeat it.

In conclusion, an university degree don’t always pre-press you for your future job but the knowledge you receive from it will make you a wiser human.