Some people believe that the best way to control accidents on city streets is to lower the speed limit but others think there are more important issues that need attention before roads can be safe. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a belief held by some individuals that reducing the speed limit on city streets is the most effective method of preventing accidents. However, others argue that there are more pressing issues that must be addressed in order to ensure road safety. I agree with this statement for various reasons.

Reducing the speed of vehicles is a good way to prevent speed-related accidents. As drivers are bound to be reckless when going at a speed that is likely to reach the cautionary level due to their inability to monitor it to keep vehicles under control, imposing a speed limit is an effective way to avoid accidents.

On the other hand, controlling the speed limit is thought to be less problematic compared to the issues that are at hand. Driving under the influence is also one of them. Intoxicated drivers behind the wheel have claimed many lives and this needs to be stopped with heavy fines and severe punishments that would possibly keep them from causing fatal mishaps on the road.

In my opinion, a controlled speed limit is not really an effective way to prevent incidents from taking place due to other reasons. A sleepy driver is still likely to cause road accidents no matter the speed in which they drive and a majority of accidents are caused by people who had fallen asleep while driving. This can be prevented if people are educated on safe driving when they take up lessons or sit for the license exam. For example, awareness programmes that take place on streets need to be made available for those who are preparing to start driving.

In conclusion, reduced speed is one way to prevent traffic accidents, however that measure alone is not sufficient. Heavy fines, severe punishments and awareness programmes are necessary to avoid them. Therefore, motor vehicle department needs to set proper guidelines and rules in order to avoid accidents.