Some people believe that the best way to control accidents on city streets is to lower the speed limit but others think there are more important issues that need attention before roads can be safe. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some critics argue that lowering speed limits is the most effective way to prevent car accidents, others believe that addressing more critical issues is necessary to improve road safety. I support the latter viewpoint, as many drivers tend to ignore speed limit signs, and stricter laws regarding drunk drivers are urgently needed.

On one hand, some individuals say that establishment of lower speed limits will be the best way of overcoming the problems related to car accidents. In many countries, limits of speed are not correctly regulated, thus causing horrible crashes on road, and killing innocent people. Those who advocated for this view think that such practice will cope with this challenge. However, lowering speed limits may not be sufficient deterrent, as many drivers tend to ignore these signs, especially during night periods, where even distance over 5 meters on highways is not visible. For example, there are a lot of long-distance roads out of town, where streetlight are rare.

On the other hand, some hold a belief that solving other road-related challenges will be far better. There are the many problems that have more importance than reducing limit speed. Most of the drivers in the night tend to drive through a red light on pedestrian traffic light, have not noticing that there will be people that crossing over the road. As a result, because of the driver’s irresponsibility, driver knocking down a person. That is why, stricter laws for such cases are needed. Moreover, this happens more often when the driver is drunk. For example, countries in Asia experience such issues more often than rest of the world, due to the soft rules in countries.

In conclusion, although some people say that diminishing the speed limit is the best way in addressing the problem of car accidents, however other laws deserve attention, as they will be more effective in prevention of horrible cases with a regard to a car.