Some people believe that the government should invest in free public healthcare, while others think individuals should be responsible for their own medical costs. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that free public healthcare should be supported by the government, while others believe that citizens are responsible for their own medical expenses. This essay will discuss both perspectives and agree with the former statement that the government should make an investment. This is because it will provide an accessible health system for all public segments although individuals need to take charge of their own healthcare in order to contribute to the country by paying taxes.

On the one hand, free public healthcare centers are one of the fundamental needs for a country, especially underdeveloped and developing countries. There is a large portion of lower most segment D and E profiles in those countries who cannot afford to pay for their illness. Moreover, government-funded programs have a wide outreach across the nation, making the healthcare system more accessible and inclusive. That is to say, investing more in opening public healthcare clinics and offering essential treatments by the government can provide better care to all individuals regardless of their disability or medical need. For example, developing countries like India launched a healthcare program that aims to provide quality healthcare to all citizens, regardless of socio-economic status.

On the other hand, taking ownership of our own medical costs can contribute to the nation’s fund by paying taxes to the hospitals or healthcare units. Taxes are either used to operate other necessary areas of the country like education and economy or used to reserve as emergency funds for potential pandemics. For instance, when a covid 19 outbreak occurred, most of the financially stable countries were able to take actions more quickly than expected by setting up many recovery centers using the country’s taxes.

In conclusion, although paying normal medical costs by individuals can contribute to the country’s financial which can then be used in a potential crisis, I believe making accessible healthcare for everyone in the society is more important. Therefore, the government should pay attention to build free public healthcare, creating a more inclusive health system to become a better developed country.