Some people believe that the government should spend more money putting in more works of art like paintings and statues in cities to make them better places to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As an effort to expand national tourism, some individuals propose the idea of implementing works of art around urban areas to draw the interest of visitors. While the opinions regarding this idea are varied, investing in distributing pieces of art can definitely boost a place’s popularity among sightseers.

On the one hand, one of the prevalent motives for travelers to choose a city as a destination is because of its beautiful infrastructure, and stunning artworks can contribute vastly to the city’s aesthetic values. The most prominent example of this is the city of Paris. Tourists around the world gather every day not only to observe the Eiffel tower, but also to appreciate glamorous paintings and street art. Well-designed distribution of artworks or statues has also proved to be effective when Skopje, a city in Macedonia receives thousands of visitors each year for its unique sculptures.

On the other hand, opposers of artwork implementation in cities argue that the allocation for this execution is not well-matched with the result. Creating works of art require an enormous budget since it means the government would need to hire reowned artists as well as architectural designers, while other areas are considered to be more urgent, such as education and healthcare. Moreover, the public space used to house these works of art cannot be used for practical purposes including critical public facilities like restrooms, bus stops, or parks.

Nonetheless, as the distribution of arts can significantly improve a town’s tourism, the investment in portraying artworks publicly is well-justified. It will also elicit agood impression and promote the location better, thus enhancing other aspects of the town such as economy and identity.

In conclusion, while administering distribution around urban areas might be costly, it is rational to do so as it will bring about equal or even greater benefits.