Some people believe that the government should spend more money putting in more works of art like paintings and statues in cities to make them better places to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Several individuals believe that the government should invest extra money for works of art, such as artwork and monuments, in towns and cities in order to embellish them to be more captivating. From a personal perspective, while there are much more areas for the gorvenment to focus on developing to be better, I still bias that it is an essential to put more decorations around cities.

On the one hand, despite the fact that some cities may need to be decorated, it is advisable that the government should tackle a few issues before spending money on more artwork. Many of the ideas that the government has to address persistent problems like poverty or pollution should be prioritized. To take the rich-poor gap as an example, the unequal status of the wealthy can lead to a higher crime rate and make life way tougher for those from the lower levels. Therefore, it is much better for governments to focus on generating opportunities for those in poor conditions instead of art and scruptures.

Despite the negatives mentioned above, I believe that a city that is appealing and beautiful is more likely to obtain several benefits. Firstly, while food and refreshments keep individuals alive from starvation and thristy, art, such as paintings or music, helps people from being bored and reduces stress. Moreover, people can express or hide their emotions, feelings and meaning through monumental artworks or monuments, which make life much more joyful and meaningful. A captured city or town can attract more inhabitants to come for a living or to travel, which is another reason why the government should invest money in works of art.

In conclusion, although I recognize the possible drawbacks of urgent issues that governments should deal with, I consider it is a positive development to have an attractive city.