Some people believe that the government should support artists like musicians, painters, and poets, while others argue that this is a misuse of finds. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In tandem with the staggering speed of advancement in human society, a dozen art fields presents a reverse relationship when they are gradually losing their inherent attention form the public. Therefore, many people propose that the authorities should support this domain, while others counterargue that there are numerous emerging problems threatening social stability. From my perspective, despite art playing a core role in humankind’s mental health and culture, allocating the national budget to necessary issues seems more idealistic and practical for societal well-being and development.

On the one hand, art not only improves residential mental health but also shows the traditional beauty of a community. Particularly, traditional norms and customs can be conveyed subtly via artworks, music, and poems so that they are preserved and developed through many generations. As a result, these cultural heritages are gradually formed into nation identity differing the country from the others. Thus, the government is able to take profit from tourists drawed by the unique culture and use art in the education system as a method to impart history to students. For example, National Lottery Heritage Fund in England distributes lottery money to support cultural projects, museums, theaters, galleries, and artists so that cultural uniqueness can be conserved and protected.

On the other hand, the keys to a happy and prosperous society are education, residential well-being, and high quality of life. In fact, without artists, people still exist and have fulfilling lives, they are only affected by a lack of health services, illiteracy, and famine. Therefore, the authorities must deliberately utilise the national budget to ensure multifaced growth for the country and satisfy citizens’ essential needs. In other words, artists, musicians, and painters should raise funds from private companies or crowdfunding, instead of putting more strain on the national funds. For example, Germany’s administration turned its back on the arts and implemented significant cuts in its cultural budget to address fiscal sustainability concerns.

In my opinion, while the values of art entail a long period to form distinctive cultural features, individuals’ primary necessities are the most crucial elements to build up a flourishing and harmonious society. Instead of entirely depending on the national limited budget, artists should generate funding for themselves and adapt to new trends to avoid falling behind in the modern world.

In conclusion, although artists, musicians, and painters are the ones who preserve and develop the nation’s identity and culture, that does not mean that authorities must allocate their funds to support them instead of solving urgent issues in society. Conserving traditional customs and traits is important but satisfying residential fundamental needs is far more paramount to social stability and sustainability.