Some people believe that the only purpose of films is to entertain. Others say films should have educational value. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed that the only cause of films is to relax while other people say that films should have valuable educational lessons. In this essay, I will discuss both views and I strongly believe that film’s only purpose is to entertain.

In a hectic day life , many people are more busy with work, study and especially take care of their family. They always feel stress and anxiety which is harmful for their mental health. Film is considered as a form of entertainment for them to escape from the daily stress of life. There is a wide range of genres of movies such as comedy , fiction movies which suggests that watching a movie is effective in alleviating stress and boosting energy. For example, they can find their joy in watching comedy films, making them laugh. Incorporating educational content such as history or geography into a genre such as romance , comedy or fiction could detract from the viewing experience and make the movie less enjoyable. It is therefore believed that movies should focus on delivering pure entertainment, rather than attempting to impart any lessons or moral messages to the audience.

Furthermore, making films that are primarily for entertainment allows filmmakers to focus on developing engaging characters and compelling storylines. When educational content is incorporated, there are many risks that it can make the film feel heavier, thereby not appealing to the audience. Viewers tend to seek comfort and joy from watching movies, the integration of educational lessons can create a forced feel, lowering the quality of the message being conveyed.

In conclusion, films are an art form primarily for entertainment. Therefore, filmmakers should avoid imparting any moral lessons which make the relaxation of movies. Filmmakers should continue to produce films focused on entertainment, enabling audiences to explore the vibrant world of cinema.