Some people believe that the only purpose of films is to entertain. Others say films should have educational value. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Without any doubt, society is divided into two groups, based on the distinct mindsets of different people. Therefore, it has become a debatable issue whether films are just simply a source of entertainment or films should have educational value. This essay will not only shed light on both perceptions but also elaborate my point of view.

To commence with the first notion, there are my myriad things to be shared in its favour. First of all, films are extremely popular types of entertainment. Every houses owns at least one television to watch television progams or types of films they like. After a long day at work and school, almost people want to come home and sit in front of the TV to relax and recharge energy. For example, after school, the children are very tired and don’t have the enthusiasm to sit and learn about something. At this time, children tend to rest and relieve energy by turning on the TV and watching their favourite shows.

Moving towards the second argument of this debate, the first point of this issue is that films can influence very strong effects on the minds of the audiences. For instance, many people’s morals and values are shaped through what they watch on films and TV. Children can learn about language, conduct and also the politeness through cartoons they watch, so do adults, watching a film about war may cause them to have a strong sense of patriotism, which could be seen as a positive educational effect. Through films, people can also learn about the cultures and lifestyles of their homeland and many countries around the world.

In conclusion, according to my perspective, both education and entertainment are equally important and necessary, neither is useless.