Some people believe that the technological process has negative effects on people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that the development of technology has serious impacts on human life. I completely agree with this assertion, for two main reasons.

First and foremost, technological processes have negative effects on the environment. Heavy industries such as chemical, electrical and metal require large equipment and facilities, and these machines produce byproducts that pollute the water used by millions of individuals. For example, Singapore’s water quality is deteriorating because of technological innovation, including waste oil from ships, construction runoff and chemicals. Furthermore, the dramatic increase in industrial zones results in a large number of trees in forest being cut because they require extensive land, often far away from residential areas. As a result, without the cover of trees on hills, which can restrict water flow, heavy rain easily causes floods, threatening thousands of people’ lives.

My second argument is that many technological products drive people to isolate themselves from the community. Worryingly, video games are becoming more and more popular not only with children but also with adults, and numerous individuals could not resist the temptation to play these virtual games. In addition to this, the invention of social networks has changed the ways that people connect with others from physical interaction to indirect communication. If, for example, someone goes to a coffee shop nowadays, they will easily see that most customers there have a mobile phone in their hands, and they keep their eyes on these phones instead of talking to their friends. In other words, technological processes, notably information technology, drive people to lose their social relationships.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the technological process has adverse influences on people’s lives.