Some people believe that the use of animals in scientific research is essential for medical progress, while others argue that it is unethical and cruel.Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, animals are being used as experimental species for medical testing and to test the safety of other prod ucts. While some people believe that it is necessary to conduct experiments on animals for these p urposes, others hold the viewpoint that animal testing is morally wrong.

On the one hand, there are ethical controversies surr ounding animal experimentation. Many unethical behaviors, such as being kept in a confined space like a small cage, could harmfully affect the animal s’ lives. As a result, the expe rimental animals could suffer psychological stress or physical suffering, causing serious injuries or , at worst, premature death. Additionally, the experiments may not accurately reflect the effect of the drugs on humans. The anim als have to go through inhumane treatment, getting dissected or havi ng many drugs inject ed into their bodie s, just to prove the medicine maybe ineffective. All of these are very cruel, which cause arguments among the public.

On the other hand, experiments on animals may bring about some benefits. Nowadays, people are expecting a higher living standard, which includes more efficient medication. Thereby, animal experimentation would check for side effects of the drugs, providi ng pharmacists wi th a deeper knowledge about the pills to make a breakthrough for the medical field. Moreover, most clinical trials now use painkillers and other chemicals to reduce the pain caused to the animals. This enables the animals to heal and return to th eir natural habitat as soon as possible, decreasing the effect of the experiments on the animals’ lives.

In conclusion, I believe that conducting experiments on animals could only bring benefits if it integrates with the right approach.