Some people believe that the use of animals in scientific research is essential for medical progress, while others argue that it is unethical and cruel.Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is a popular view that animal testing is too cruel, with some people disagreeing because of its importance in scientific research. Animal testing has been a part of human history and is likely to continue being a controversial topic. In my view, it should be used if there are no alternatives.

Animal testing is responsible for some of the biggest medical discoveries in the past 100-150 years. Many medications and treatment methods that treat diabetes, cancer, heart conditions, and epilepsy have developed partially thanks to testing on animals first. This is why such testing is supported by many even in contemporary times, as animal testing is fundamental in creating new medications and ensuring safety standards. Apart from medicine, other scientific pursuits such as space exploration can be mentioned, too. In the mid-1950s, for example, a dog was sent to space to test the mission before a human could do the same.

For many, such an attitude toward animals is considered too inhumane. They believe animals should not be tested anymore, with other alternatives being used instead. New computer systems, imaging techniques, and in vitro methods are some of the options people support over animal testing. These are occasionally cheaper and do not require animals to be used, which means it is a more ethical way to conduct science.

In my view, animal testing is still relevant in case there is no other way to conduct an experiment. Whether fair or not, human civilization has been advancing thanks to animal testing and can benefit from it even more in our ethically conscious era. There are still diseases to battle and mysteries to disentangle. In every case that does not present an alternative, animal testing should be used in favor of humans.

In conclusion, animal testing is cruel but has been beneficial for humans in many ways. It should be used when there are no alternatives in existence.