Some people believe that the use of social media has a positive impact on individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that social media poses harmful effects to not only individual but also the community. To large extent, I agree with this statement because social media could influence people in various negative ways.

Firstly , in individual’s perspective, overuse of social media is a waste of time and could lead to procrastination. With the advancement of technology, various functions in social media apps have been developed. Not only photos, but also stories or short videos could be posted online. Young people are addicted to browsing different kinds of videos, even if they are only for entertainment and no particle significance. This wastes people’s time and lower their production especially for students. This could affect their academic performance by wasting time to browse meaningless content instead of doing revision.

Secondly, social media could create trends in society, but not all of them are beneficial. For example, there was a suicide game called ‘Blue Whale’ spread among the social media in the previous few years. The participants of the game were mostly teenagers. It affected participants mentally by requesting them to post photos they harm or abuse themselves, such as cutting their arms or drawing tattoos on their bodies. There were news reporting that many young people were dead because of the fatal game. Young people’s values have not been built correctly and concretely, so they would be more easily affected by the trends and treat them as “astonishing behaviors”. Therefore, social media could transfer fatal trends that could harm people in the society physically and mentally.

In conclusion, there are negative effects post by the social media trends. In fact, the correct and restrict use of social media could help people relax and unwind after long working or studying hours under the packed schedule. Therefore, people who use social media should be aware of the contents post online and create a positive internet environment.