Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment."

Some people argue that fixed punishments should be applied for each type of crime, while others believe that individual case and reasons must be considered. In my opinion, taking motives and situation into is significant for achieving justice

On the one hand, fixed crimes can make the legal more predictable and organized. When the same crimes lead to same penalty, it reduces the risk of unfair punishments and provide equality in society. Furthermore, clear punishments may act as a warning, as people are aware of the consequences of completing crimes. For example, high and fixed penalties for minor offence may stop some individuals from committing them.

On the other hand, every crime is different, so that it is important to look at reasons behind it. Some people may commit crimes because challenging life situations. For example, a person who stole medicine, because of financial hardships should not to be punished and judged as a person who stole expensive goods for selfish purposes. Considering criminals background, motives allows judges to give more appropriate and balanced sentences.

In conclusion, while fixed punishment provide equal status, I believe that individual circumstances should always be considered to ensure a fair legal system.