Some people believe that traditional values are being lost as societies become more modern. Others think that modernization brings positive changes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In an era which phenomenon of modernization prevails, impacts of the-state-of-art practices on local cultures are fiercely debated. An ambivalence arises among people about this process whether yields favourable outcomes or is the key reason for cultural loss. Albeit globalization having a set of merits, I am of the opinion that it preponderantly induces ethnic traditions to perish.

In respect to the boons modernization engenders, global integration eradicates disparities among different ethnic groups, thus fostering inclusiveness and building a strong rapport within the community. Consequently, the world becomes more inclined towards global connectivity as the level of racial and societal discrimination significantly lessens due to cultural homogenization, which proves to be of high importance in worldwide acceleration of productivity. The fewer discrepancies people in the society have, the less chance there is of frays occurring on an ethnic basis. Additionally, globalization empowers workers to find a suitable niche for themselves and companies to hire pertinent professional employees since interconnected world offers a vast reservoir of opportunities for both labourers and businesses to opt for. Hence, in a modernized community, people are more likely to embrace their differences and collaborate with the objective of bilateral development.

However, modernization also plays a leading role in the extinction of cultural virtues, for this practice encourages individuals to abandon their ethnic values and become alike. Were preponderance of posterity to attach less importance to their ancestral teachings, the values would be inconvertibly destined to terminate. Following that, as vibrant cultures turn into lackluster and most ideas commence to be identical, ability to look at events from different aspects diminishes, confining cognitive boundaries and critical thinking. Moreover, ethnic homogenization is susceptible to be utilized as a tool to establish a hegemony of a dominant culture over its counterparts through idealization of foreign virtues with the help of mass media, namely the Internet, TV, books or newspapers, which is responsible for swaying people’s views on their local traditions and enticing them to pursue the colonist culture. So engrossed in the newly-introduced practices people become, they tend to overlook the significance of traditional ethics, culminating in the loss of the respective heritage for good in the worst case.

Summing up all the aforementioned factors, it is justifiable to avow that albeit modernization possessing certain upsides, its pernicious effects on regional traditions are irrefutable. Eradication of discrepancies between cultures is sure to fade the vivacity in people’s everyday lives, incurring mental health problems as the world goes pale. As a result, individuals are likely to suffer from lack of creativity because of the scarcity of inspiration and development pace of global culture is probable to decelerate in the long run.

In conclusion, cultural loss induced by globalisation being of higher significance than its advantages can be said. Only if local practices are ensured to perpetuate, can the expansion of modernization be feasible.