Some people believe that university should only accept students with high grades. To what do you argree or disagree

In recent years, some people argue that it is better for universities to accept students only with high academic achievements, while others claim that education should be available to everyone who is inspired to study and work. However, I strictly believe that universities indeed should look at students grades before accepting, because by this universities can avoid taking irresponsible individuals.

One main reason for my point of view is that education should always be the thing that people try to achieve. Universities should not accept everyone just because of the willingness to get knowledge in certain places. Students should work hard to get into dream university, especially if they want a financial aid or full-ride. For instance, it would be unfair to let people with low academic results to study in Harvard and other Ivy League universities, because relying on statistics, only 1% of Kazakh students enrolled into Ivy League colleges every year. By making the application process hard and fair, individuals will feel the value of their efforts and work, as well as competitiveness of university.

Another crucial factor is that universities’ admissions can face the increasing trend of taxes. If colleges accept anyone who wants to study, universities will need to provide a dozen times more finance to government. Therefore, taxes will become higher, and additionally individuals will lose the value of certain university rank and knowledge that they provide.

To conclude, although it may seems beneficial for making studying at universities affordable for everyone, it has its drawbacks, such as high taxes, that is why education needs to have its price and worthiness.