some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children) Are you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that high schools should require non-profit community service as part of their programme. I mostly agree with the opinion that schools should teach children to be ready to contribute to society, although the primary focus should remain on the main curriculum.

Nowadays, the education system rewards students solely based on academic endeavours. Even though it equips them with the necessary skill set for their future careers, that alone does not really teach them about the importance of serving their community. As a result, students might end up with a highly self-oriented, individualistic mindset. However, it is equally important to give something back to society, even in simple ways such as volunteering, engaging with younger people, helping neighbours, or donating to charity. This not only teaches them altruism from an early age, but also strengthens their sense of unity and kinship.

Engaging in such activities as part of the school curriculum might also help students develop their social skills. Students involved in such activities usually need to demonstrate effective communication, leadership, and teamwork. Such qualities are highly valued in both professional and social settings. Therefore, community service benefits not only the beneficiaries themselves but also the volunteers.

To conclude, even though school is seen as a place to learn certain subjects and develop as a future professional, serving the community helps students develop as individuals. Therefore, I stand by the idea that adding it as a mandatory part of high school programmes would benefit both students and society.