Some people believe that when designing a building, the most important thing to be considered is the function rather than the outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals hold a school of thought that the function of a building is more crucial in designing it rather than concentrate on its appearance. Personally, I partly agree with this perception due to some reasons that are explained in this essay

On the one hand, the appearance of a building can enhance appeal and excitement among people, especially commercial contexts. With the increasing competition among businesses, creating visually striking buildings can attract many clients. For example, Go Mall – a new mall in Nghe An has just started for a year, but gained notable profits to 25-30 billion per month. The first time arrival in a competitive market, this entrepreneur faced a big challenge when being shadowed by others because of its appearance which may not impress consumers. The leader quickly identified and decided to apply more things for the visual appeal of their building such as posters of celebrities, trendy decorations and unique design. Therefore, prioritizing appearance is an effective strategy for commercial buildings.

On the other hand,the functionality of a building is of greater importance for residential or practical purposes. Although the appearance of an accommodation may attract many people to live in, the cost of maintenance of the building can become a financial burden for some house owners. As a result, most individuals pay attention to the inner environment where they will spend their lives to ensure that all of them can meet their necessities and demands such as large space, proper ventilation and essential utilities. For instance, extended families tend to live in an accommodation which offers enough space for their family members to live comfortably without feeling cramped. Ultimately, it is obvious that the functional aspects are prioritized over the aesthetic considerations as they can impact directly to the quality of daily life.

In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that the aesthetic appearance holds an important role in commercial strategy for many businesses, I believe that it is not necessary for residential building because the functional aspects could be more essential.