Some people believe that wild animals should not be kept in zoos or other man-made environments as there is no longer a need for them in the 21st century. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, it is argued by some individuals that people should refuse to keep wild animals in artificial environments such as zoos. This essay also claims that it is important to keep animals in their natural environments because man-made environments are often not suitable for many wild animals. In addition, it is important for some animals to keep interaction with other members of their own species, which is difficult to achieve in zoos.

Firstly, it is really difficult to create living conditions for wild animals that would be fully appropriate for these ones. Nowadays, there are a lot of different animal species. All of them need special environments, and it is impossible to combine them in one place. However, zoos try to do this. As a result, a lot of animals suffer from wrong living conditions. For example, there is a zoo in Nizhny Novgorod called Limpopo. It contains many animals such as tropical birds, sheep and a variety of frogs. In particular, there is a cave with a polar bear. It suffers from heat in summer because its natural environment is much colder than Nizhny Novgorod.

Secondly, interaction and communication with each other is also very significant for the majority of wild animals. There are some kinds of beasts that cannot live in total solitude. For example, according to recent research in the United Kingdom, it is really important for some parrots to have a partner. Over 60% of observed birds died quickly because of loneliness after the death of their partners.

To sum up, natural living conditions are vital for the most wild animals. People have not to keep them in caves, zoos and other man-made environments.