Some people believe that women should play an equal role as men in a country's police force and military force, while other think women are not suitable for these jobs. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

National security is one the top priorities in every government, and should always be dealt with cautiously. In this regard, some think that gender equality should be applied among police and military forces, whereas others believe that women aren’t fit for those jobs. In my opinion, even though there may be some historical background in the idea that women shouldn’t be involved, I think it is crucial to include them in such matters.

Since time immemorial, the roles of men and women in society have been fixed. Traditionally, women were designated to take care of the household and the offspring. As a result, some people still can’t envision women outside of that limited area. Nevertheless, women have proven times and times again how reliable they can be when put on extreme situations, such as how they contributed to victory during World War II whether by taking care of the injuries or by actively participating in the rise of the industry.

Some would also argue that women are naturally weaker than men and can’t deal with menial works as well as their counterparts, especially combat and pure strength. As much as this may have been true some decades ago, progress in technology, intensive training and better health conditions are steadily erasing gender-boundaries and allowing everyone to partake in activities that were once deemed unreachable for them. As an example, it is no longer rare to see women in what used to be male-driven activities, such as extreme sports, firefighting, or even craftsmanship.

Furthermore, women may have a different approach to problems and can thus come with ground-breaking, never-seen-before solutions and innovations. In a hazardous situation, this would make a huge impact considering that the more strategies, the better. It is no wonder that most of the developed countries seek for equity in leading positions, considering how valuable women’s opinions are.

To wrap up, I am convinced that women should be as involved in national security matters as men are. Most of the arguments given by this view’s opponents are based on some archaic cultural beliefs that were proven wrong and should be forgotten.