Some people believe that zoos where animals are kept in a man-made environment should no longer exist in the 21st century. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people argue that zoos where creatures are contained in artificial enclosures should be banned in this century. This essay totally agrees with this statement because it is cruel to keep an animal in a confined space, and nature programs allow us to view animals without the need for a zoo.

Keeping an animal in a restricted area is unmerciful. This is because a creature need to live in a wildlife habitat in order to develop comprehensively, not to be displayed for public exhibition. As a result, many species of fauna that live in captivity loss their survival instinct and cannot return to the natural environment. For example, in Thu Le Zoo, where is the biggest zoological park in Hanoi, lots of elephants and monkeys have to return to the zoo after being freedom because they cannot survive in the natural habitat.

Another reason is that high quality documentaries remove our need to see animals in captivity. The reason is that due to the latest development in technology there are many smart devices which have the virtual reality and programmers are now able to offer us a breathtaking VR experience that transport us to vibrant wildlife habitats. For instance, a company called Let’s Explore announce their Explorer VR headset which allow children and their family to experience the wild in immersive virtual reality.

In conclusion, it is not necessary to have zoos in the 21st century because keeping a creature in a confined area is cruel and there are many natural programs which offer us an intimate glimpse of animals in their natural habitat without the need for a zoo.