Some people decide to start their own business instead of working for a company or organisation. Do the advantages for people working for their own business outweigh the disadvantages?

Instead of working for multinational business or institutions, some individuals prefer to start their journey of being an entrepreneur. Despite the down sides of this phenomenon, the bright sides seem to outweigh more and would be further elaborated in the following paragraphs.

When the topic about starting a business appears, the limited skills could be the one of the challenges for people. When people decide to build their own business, they are pressured to master multiple skills such as accounting, marketing, and managing the employees. Another disadvantage might appear from the financial side as the risk would be higher, compared to the monthly salary as a worker in a company. Such conditions might indirectly affect people’s mental health since they are prone to have acute stress.

However, there is a common adage that says, “As the risk gets higher, so does the potential profit.” In the term of starting a business, it could be interpreted that higher income is possible to be gained in the entrepreneurship journey. Additionally, this option also offers flexibility or independence in directing our own businesses. So beneficial is this choice that it potentially gives us a work-life balance which could strengthen our mental and physical health. Furthermore, by choosing to be an entrepreneur, there will come a wider impact for people surrounding us. Running our own business could help a lot in opening a new opportunity for others who are looking for jobs in order to survive in life.

Concluding from all the explained points, although several disadvantages might occur in people’s entrepreneurship journey, the advantages are more significant such as potential profit. Besides, a flexible life and a broader impact for the surroundings are also counted as the positive sides of this choice.