Some people decide to start their own business instead of working for a company or organisation. Do the advantages for people working for their own business outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, launching an own business instead of working for a company or organization has become a common trend of discussion in society. While there is no denying that this trend brings certain risks and drawbacks, I firmly believe that the benefits far outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are a few disadvantages when beginning an own business. The main one is about the financial risks. When individuals want to start a business, initial investment plays a vital role. At the beginning, people need a large amount of money to pay for business premises, employees, overhead cost and marketing cost. People who don’t have enough money for this initial investment have to borrow money from close friends or other relatives. Unfortunately, they probably won’t succeed. Then they can’t repay the debt they borrowed before. In addition, salary is also an signìicant problem in starting your own business instead of working for a company. Launching your own business doesn’t have a fixed salary like working for a company or organisation, it depends on your profit. The business sometimes doesn’t have any customers so they don’t have enough profit to maintain their business. As a result, they don’t have sufficient money for themselves. Moreover, individuals usually don’t have experience in operating a business on their own. Although they may have studied economics before, contacting with reality is also important.

On the other hand, despite there are a few drawbacks and risks when starting an own business, the benefits far outweigh the disadvantages. The most important one is about financial potential. Launching a business has a huge financial potential. If you work for a company or organisation, your income will gradually increase, but not significantly. Instead of that, when you run a business, your income depends entirely on your success. The more you succeed, the more money you have. When people have certain success, they also have sustainable wealth. Furthermore, financial potential is crucial, but autonomy is just as important. If you run your business, you will be your own boss. This means individuals are able to set the schedule freely. They will have a flexible working hour that they don’t need to work within a fixed time frame. For instance, when you are busy today and need to take a break, you can work more tomorrow to make up for it. Due to being able to set schedule freely, people won’t get stressed. They can take a rest and hang out when they are tired and exhausted.

In conclusion, despite the risks and drawbacks that starting an own business cam bring, I am convinced that its benefits greatly outweigh the disadvantages. This is mainly due to the huge financial potential, autonomy, and flexibility.