Some people find it difficult to get a job nowadays. What's the reason for this? What do the young people do for the future?

In this cut-throat world today, it has become increasingly challenging to secure employment. This essay will illustrate various strong reasons accounting for this trend and several things youngsters need to do to equip themselves for this daunting process.

Several reasons can explain the great difficulty of finding jobs nowadays. Firstly, the process of recruitment is becoming increasingly demanding. CVs and portfolios of more applicants possess everything companies are looking for the same position; therefore, businesses are forced to turn down large numbers of competent candidates. In addition, a huge number of competent applicants choose to major in subjects that have lower progression rates for securing a place in the professional setting. According to statistics from recent surveys, reveals that although an increasing number of students possess a Bachelor’s or a Master’s degree in these fields, generally lower employment opportunities are available. For instance, Psychology and Anthropology are such examples.

To advance their candidacy, graduates need to make their CVs stand out from the other applicants. In addition to having big-grade point average and outstanding credentials, one needs to demonstrate well-developed soft skills. To that end, students actively undertake extracurricular activities to earn certificates for participation, for example in community service or varsity athletics, which are then included in the CVs for the admission committee to scrutinize. Moreover, job seekers may demonstrate their expertise by acquiring more relevant qualifications. For instance, a prospective banker should obtain one of the internationally recognized finance-related certificates such as CFA, Chartered Financial Analysis, or the ACCA – Association of Chartered Certified Accountants.

In conclusion, the rigorous recruitment process and low employment rate of some majors are accountable for the increasing difficulty in finding jobs. Therefore, applicants are under obligation to create impressive CVs in order to be successfully recruited.