Some people like to spend their leisure time with their colleagues, while others prefer to keep their private life separate from their work life. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although some individuals enjoy spending their free time with their coworkers, there are others who like to keep their professional and personal life separate. Catching up with colleagues after work can surely maintain a healthy relationship and boost the overall work experience, However, sharing plenty of time together outside job can affect an employee’s professionalism. In my view, there should be a certain gap between private and work life.

On the one hand, it is said that having a friendly environment at the workplace can strengthen the bond among workers, and help in performing tasks effectively. Moreover, many employees make better friends in their offices as they tend to spend most of their time with them. For instance, it has been observed by many companies that having friends at the workplace help in cordial professional setting and optimum results.

On the other hand, combining private and professional aspects of life can have some detrimental effects on work culture. There can be personal issues among co-workers which can hamper their productivity. Additionally, office politics can make corporate atmosphere toxic. Furthermore, it would be beneficial for a person to take a break from their routine working environment to unwind and relax for a bit. A survey in India showed that taking a vacation from service and workmates for few days makes one more focused.