Some people prefer to live in a house, while others think that there are more advantages living in an apartment. Do the drawbacks of living in a house outweigh the benefits?

Many residents insist houses are vastly superior to flats, whereas others show the opposite view. While there are a number of benefits of dwelling in a house, I am of the opinion that the drawbacks are greater.

On the one hand, living in a private house can be highly beneficial for many reasons. One of the key advantages is better privacy, as noise is considerably reduced thanks to the space between houses. People can do whatever they want without worrying about disturbing their neighbors or being observed. Another significant benefit is that dwellers living in a house might get more space. Many houses not only provide numerous bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, ensuring sufficient rooms for every member, and even for guests, but also have spacious kitchens and living rooms for relaxation and daily activities, which is perfectly suitable for extended families.

On the other hand, I would argue that the advantages of houses pale in comparison with the disadvantages. Firstly, the security system of a private house is overall inferior to that of a residential building. There are few houses equipped with surveillance cameras to monitor individuals’ behavior and most families do not have adequate finances to employ security guards. Consequently, this kind of accommodation is highly prone to burglary, which causes serious harm and even compromises personal safety. The second negative aspect that should be taken into consideration is the accessibility of utility. People may have to travel further to access amenities, services, and transport links, especially if they live in a rural or suburban area. As a result, house residents would frequently encounter more inconvenience and time-consuming experiences than flat dwellers as these services are usually readily available in the vicinity of apartment complexes.

In conclusion, despite several positives that settling in a house has, I subscribe to the idea that they are far outweighed by the potential problems.