Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that videos games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

It is believed by some people that computerized games are not detrimental but serve as beneficial facilities for getting knowledge. Another group of people assumes that electronic games are harmful to players. In my opinion, provided that time for a game is not surpassed, the negative effects of video gaming don’t outweigh the advantages.

The biggest downside of computerized games is that they might be detrimental and might lead to health deterioration. Players tend to not pay attention to that as they are fully immersed in the process of getting fun. The time spent indulging in the game might go out of control and in the long term playing late on a regular basis might result both in mental diseases and physical distortions like slouching, and hunchback. Another drawback to this entertainment might be the obsession with the surreal world that it provides. Video gamers are likely to fall off the real world in the pursuit of victory or level up in the game. Getting carried away by the game, a person might delay their own life by postponing a meeting with relatives and friends, doing household chores, marriage, etc. However, I believe if to regulate the amount of time spent playing and restricting it to, for instance, an hour a day or once a week with friends doesn’t do any harm at all to anyone.

Turning to the advantages, video games can prove to be a great pastime with friends thus improving relationships and having fond memories. In addition, they are designated in a way to be complex to resolve or to get through. That stimulates brain cells and neuron connections which in turn results in better work of the brain. Moreover, electronic games are a fun way to learn English for non-natives across the globe. In fact, it is proven by science that words learnt under some emotional joy retain for longer. The next positive effect can be that virtual games encourage imagination and develop creative skills in gamers.