Some people say it is great for older schoolchildren to study a large number of subjects and develop their knowledge, others think it is great to study a smaller subjects in greater. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The number of subjects being studied by older schoolchildren has received different lines of thought, with one advocating for a greater number, arguing that it can broaden these individuals’ understanding, while others disagree, leaning towards the idea of quality rather than quantity. This essay is going to delve into the two schools of thought, before stating the writer’s stance.

Granted, it is justifiable why some advocate for the exposure to a greater variety of subjects. Most pronounced of these is the abundance of knowledge that is being provided in accordance with such a curriculum. When coming into frequent contact with such a diversity of different fields, students have the chance to obtain a diverse knowledge background. The possession of such can put these students of superior positions in the scope of businesses. For instance, students who pursue the field of arts need to expand their contact with different tastes and extremes of art appreciation, which makes them competent in an increasingly dense human resources market. In tandem with this, this form of curriculum set-up helps students avoid the excession of single subjects being taught at once. Students under this curriculum can benefit from less academic stress, which is often the result of knowledge being unnecessarily advanced for their level, and needn’t attend classes that receive low interest from them. Such an advantage can grant students with the chance to try out different subjects, potentially helping them reach better college decision, thereby preparing them mentally

On the other hand, sole focus on a narrower range of knowledge has its own merits that are noticeable. Such a curriculum may allow for in-depth analysis and acquisition of the subjects’ knowledge. As opposed to the general knowledge which is the unavoidable facet of the other standpoint, students of this group may have ample time and conditions for a comprehensive approach towards the subjects. This can greatly broaden students’ horizon on the fact that knowledge is not simply math calculations, or the figures behind which some historical events took place, but it is also about critical thinking, about how problems can be resolved using different thinking methods. Such a mindset acts as a solid foundation setter for college life adaptation, with the researches being good examples. Besides this, a narrower range of subjects is equivalent to less distraction for students’ academic goals and reduces financial burden on parents. This littleness in subject number paves way for clearer career goals, especially benefiting students who already know their needs. Also, with so much things on the list in this day and age of sporadic economic recession, parents may sense the relief from less textbooks that are required in the other group

In conclusion, it is true that the number of subjects for older school children provokes different stances. Personally, I lean towards the idea of basing this primarily on students’ needs. Those in charge should implement laws that fulfil the potential want of some students for a larger number of subjects, simultaneously grouping them into one and organise education programs specially tailored to their want, while also making it an option for others to choose a narrower range of subjects. With the fulfilment of these, the education industry may accomplish the best output possible.