Some people say it is more important to plant trees in the open spaces in towns and cities than to build more housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there are many ongoing debates regarding whether more trees should be planted in towns or more houses should be built. This essay will argue why I believe planting trees provides a more long-term benefit for our society.

One major reason for this view is that planting more trees plays a pivotal role in the environment. The more trees there are in urban areas, the better the quality of air will be. Moreover, since there is many ongoing traffic congestion occurring, the amount of carbon emission increases, making the environment damaged and polluting the air. But if more trees are planted in open areas, these severe environmental problems will be mitigated, leading to a long-term benefit for our modern society.

Another possible reason for this opinion is the reduction in individuals’ stress levels. Having better air quality can not only improve the environment but also help individuals to be mentally healthy and release their stress. In addition, the vivid colors of trees can encourage depressed people to feel energetic and positive. As a result, planting trees can help individuals to reduce their stress levels and to be energetic, which are all positive outcomes.

In conclusion, I believe more trees should be planted in open areas to provide a better quality of air and to help individuals release their stress. Therefore, I believe that rather than building more houses, trees should be planted.