Some people say it is more important to plant trees in the open spaces in towns and cities than to build more housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some think planting trees in urban areas plays a crucial role, while others say that housing offers more advantages. While both ways have beneficial aspects, I believe that building more houses makes more opportunities for people to improve socially and professionally.

Critics of constructing accommodations argue there is a range of concerns about increasing the number of houses in urban areas. The growing number of people in cities can cause not only deforestation and destruction but also contribute to a significant rise in pollution, crowded places, and increasing the cost of living. From a financial standpoint, as the relocation of old buildings, many low-income families struggle to cover their basic needs, fulfill living expenditures, and meet financial necessities. This, in turn, leads to poverty, especially in underdeveloped communities. On a health scale, logging trees due to the constructions induces fear among people about the risk of chronic health-related issues like lung cancer, high blood pressure, and diabetes because of poor air quality and a lack of tress, which can help absorb carbon dioxide and produce oxygen. A byproduct is that those who live in towns may suffer from the likelihood of health problems. Take Tashkent, the capital of Uzbekistan, where its rate ranked the first level in terms of air pollution.

Despite these dangers, in my opinion, there is a wide range of positive effects to building more house in urban environments in social and professional realms. On the social level, by building more accommodations in suburban communities, governmental bodies create opportunities for people to improve their interpersonal skills when working in good workplaces with colleagues, learning in well-designed and modern schools with peers, and living in well-established buildings with family members, which can lead to an increase in feelings of happiness and personal satisfaction. It can open many doors to foster their skills, like interacting with strangers, cooperation, and negotiation, let alone provide them with better living conditions. From a professional perspective, if governments allow building more houses instead of planting trees, they can make the way to increase employment opportunities, thereby reducing unemployed individuals in society. As a result, this trend might avoid poverty in some cases.

To conclude, although planting trees has distinct advantages for health, I personally contend that given the high rates of population, it largely represents a positive development to double accommodations in urban settings socially and professionally.