Some people say patriotism causes problems and is negative overall. Others feel that it is beneficial for society at large. Do the advantages of patriotism outweigh its disadvantages?

Some individuals are of the opinion that patiotisim piecas issues and overall it is detrimental. However, others believe that national loyalty benefits society at large. In this essay, I would evaluate both the pros and cons of this tendency before proposing whether or not the positive aspects outperform its drawbacks.

On the one hand, patriotism can have some problematic implications. One of the most notable reasons is that it can trigger a sense of superiority over other nations. When people argue their country is always right and refuse its flaws, honest citizens who want to improve are often labeled as unpatriotic if they speak out. Therefore, this could prevent youth, intellectuals, and others from sharing their ideas or pushing for reform, leading to an adverse bearing on the country’s development in the future. Another disadvantage that should be taken into account is the international conflicts. By being patriotic at most extreme, nationalistic tensions can cause conflict over disputed territories. For example, countries use patriotism to justify military actions or territorial disputes, thus resulting in war, loss of life, and the destruction of regional peace.

On the other hand, I believe that nationalism can be beneficial due to many reasons. To begin with, patriotism plays an important role in strengthening the bonds between people living in a community. In other words, once a nation has to deal with severe circumstances such as invaders, or a dangerous pandemic, the spirit of patriotism begins to reach a peak. As a consequence, citizens may become more united and willing to sacrifice personal interests for the greater good, helping to regain liberty from exterior attackers and also greatly repelling diseases. Moreover, in democratic societies, where each citizen plays a role in national progress, modern patriotism is about taking responsibility-voting, protecting the environment, standing up for justice. Hence, this would help thrive the society to a more transparent and fair society.

In conclusion, after considering both advantages and disadvantages of patriotism, I assume that this trend can outweigh its negative aspects. While it can make inhabitants from other countries inferior and cause international inharmony, it would act as a precursor to form the solidarity of locals and facilitate the development of one’s society