Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things.Other people think advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

The impact of advertising is widely renowned in today’s society. Its success in manipulating human emotion provokes the need to purchase a good. On the side note, many people came to believe that the barrage of marketing media has led to a disconnect with the human psyche, causing a fog within the consumer market. Therefore, the effect of advertising can be seen as a double-edged sword in that manner.

Getting into detail, advertisements have come a long way since the 19th century. The colourful and vivid pictures hook the audience to buy things. Its influence on the five senses guides its way to their doors. Nowadays, companies are well sophisticated; with their large datasets of user demographics, it is easy for them to target their consumer base. By putting ads in all sorts of locations: videos, billboard, radio; it will help persuade one to become their proud buyer. It is easy for consumers to get drawn because of its precedence in our everyday life.

Interestingly, due to more saturation in every part of the market, competition plays a big role when it comes to mainstream advertisements. Humans have now perceived it as a common object to ignore; the excessive dispersion of ads caused the masses to recognize a pattern that it was just a campaign for companies to attract their buyers. Additionally, people seem to neglect advertising because of their existing habits, where no ads will control their spending. As a result, reducing its effectiveness overall.

To add up, the aspect of advertisement has become more capitalistic in today’s generation. The well deceiving illustration has misled many consumers in the food industry. The extravagant food plating, huge portions, and colourful meals was all a trick to gain consumer traction. What was highly expected was a facade of lies. The reality of ads is for companies to gain an instant cash grab, meaning more people need to be wary of its trickery.

In conclusion, human psychology has played a major role in influencing peoples’ buying behaviour. The relevance of ads has resulted in lower effectiveness as consumers do not see its unique value. Companies should come up with unique ways to communicate trust with their respective consumers.