Some people say that all popular TV programmes should aim to educate viewers about important social issues.

Some people say that all popular TV programmes should aim to educate viewers about important social issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Due to the rapid increase of social issues in many modern states, some individuals suggest that all popular TV programmes broadcast educational information regarding them. Personally, even though I am sympathetic towards the introduction of educational shows in this particular area, I do not agree with the idea of their complete predominance on television.

On the one hand, it is educational awareness that may bear fruit in times of immorality and fighting off societal problems that arise from it. First and foremost, television programmes educating viewers concerning the problems of poverty, discrimination, and inequality can contribute to a better understanding of their root causes and possible risks, leading to alterations in overall human behaviour. Being exposed to real-life examples of societal wrongs and the harm done by them, some may develop a better sense of decency and justice, helping or defending others in the future. Additionally, due to the widespread television network and a substantial number of viewers, the proper messages in this regard can be spread most easily. For instance, in comparison with public awareness campaigns that require tremendous effort to create, organize, and eventually host, programmes can be broadcast unlimited times, following their actual recording. Therefore, social commentary in relation to television production has some positive sides.

On the other hand, the overexposure may bring about only adverse effects. Inasmuch as contemporary society is tied to fast-paced lifestyles, financial pressures, as well as increasing crime rates, the constant flow of negative information is mentally pressing. Thus, individuals who fancy watching television as a means of relaxation may just overlook those programmes. Furthermore, it is impractical to rely entirely on television production when aspiring to raise awareness about societal problems. Only a pragmatic approach with a wide range of initiatives, from changes in education to public awareness campaigns, should take place instead of a fragmented one, as not everyone watches TV in particular.

In conclusion, I am partially sympathetic towards the proposal to emphasize social issues when broadcasting. On the positive side, it is an easy means of raising awareness concerning them by promoting a social consience and responsibility. However, it should not completely dominate TV, for it puts a mental strain on people. Thus, this sort of shows should be broadcast in an equal measure with others.