Some people say that it's better to teach language students in small classes, whereas others think the number of people does not matter. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

People argue whether language lessons should be conducted in small groups or big classes. I personally believe that classes with limited amount of students are better in terms of language learning.

On the one hand, conducting lessons for group with large number of students can be good from educational and economical prospectives. As it is known that picking up foreign languages is possible only in the case when learners use the language actively. Therefore, big groups during language classes provide more opportunity for students to interact with each other, which is essential in mastering the language. However, in small language groups the chances to improve communication skills can be less compared to extended ones. Another reason why people think number of students is not matter during the language classes is that providing lessons in small groups can require more resources such as more classrooms and teachers. Though, teaching students in big classes can reduce some expenses which is a good contribution into government’s budget.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why it is better language students in small classes. Firstly, it allows teachers to control their students better. For example when there are too many people in the classroom teachers sometimes can not manage to identify problems and give solutions for each student, however teachers are given more space and time to monitor students’ results and progression in case of small classes. Furthermore, it also enables students to give questions during the lessons and ask teacher to explain the topic once more if they could not understand initially, which is nearly impossible in big groups.

In conclusion, conducting language classes in small groups can be beneficial both for students and teachers because there is more space and time,which is a great drawback of leading lessons in big groups.