Some people say that learning a foreign language is only useful for travelling or working in another country. Others believe there are other reasons to learn a second language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is an ongoing debate about whether learning a foreign language is only essential for travelling and working or there are other purposes too. My firm conviction is that via knowing extra language can broaden your horizon and open many doors.

On the one hand, many people believe that it is only necessary for travelling or working in abroad since with language barrier you may face some obstacles. You might struggle to ask for help other people to help when you lost or just to communicate with collegeas and clients. Hence, knowing a foreign language prevents feelings of isolation and helps with daily communication in other countries.

On the other hand, there is also opinion that it is also vital for other purposes, such as make new friends, communicate with foreign people, or search for new information. In some countries like Kazakhstan, there is limited knowledge available in the native language. For instance, many people in Kazakhstan must learn a second language to access educational materials and resources. Therefore, foreign language skills open up opportunities for better education and personal development beyond just travel and work.

In general, while some people argue that learning a foreign language is mainly useful for work and travel, others think there are many other paramount reasons. I personally believe that learning an extra language brings significant benefits such as access to knowledge and overall understanding others’ culture.